Saturday, June 9, 2012

Catering for a DF Coeliac

If you're catering for a dairy-intolerant coeliac the lists of foods they can't eat can be daunting, but some of your usual home-cooked meals may already be suitable or with the simple substitution of one or two ingredients could be made dairy and gluten free.  Here are some ideas of things to cook, which don't involve expensive, specialist free-from ingredients (most of which you'd have to check anyway as some are wheat-free but not gluten-free, not oat-free etc...it's a bit of a minefield!).


Remember to make sure you are preparing food in a clean, crumb-free and flour-free kitchen and use separate utensils and pans to any gluten-containing ingredients if you are preparing gluteny foods as well.  (check out my pages on food prep and Yes/No foods for more info.)

  • Risotto - use oil instead of butter and buy GF DF stock cubes (e.g. Kallo). Porcini are GF.
  • Soup - use oil instead of butter and buy GF DF stock cubes (e.g. Kallo)
  • Casserole - dust any meat in cornflour (or omit this stage) and use GF DF stock cubes.
  • Roast dinner - avoid stuffing and make gravy from the meat juices, adding GF stock and corn or potato flour to thicken it.
  • Thai curry - check the paste ingredients for gluten and milk products (most are authentic and suitable). Rice and rice noodles are gluten free or cook the curry with potatoes in it.
  • Rice/Quinoa Salad - make your own dressing with oil and vinegar/lemon juice. If using mustard, check the ingredients don't include wheat flour and use a new jar (as bread knives may have been dipped in it previously). If using mayo - check it doesn't contain milk/whey/lactose. egg is fine. Serve with new potatoes.  Cous cous and Bulgar are both wheat so a big no no!
  • Potato Salad -  If using mayo - check it doesn't contain milk/whey/lactose. egg is fine.   If using mustard, check the ingredients don't include wheat flour and use a new jar (as bread knives may have been dipped in it previously).
  • Antipasti - these should all be GF but some jars contain feta cheese (which will be obvious). Most salami are okay but some have gluten in the peppered coating or contain lactose, so check the ingredients.
  • Jacket potatoes - bake them in foil or on a clean baking tray (as many people will have warmed bread/pizza straight on the oven shelves which will leave traces of gluten). Virtually all baked bean brands are GF, check the ingredients - maize starch is fine. Serve olive oil as an alternative to butter.
  • Fried breakfast - make sure you fry only gluten-free ingredients in the pan (use a separate pan for gluteny food, or use the pan after cooking the GF options.  Tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, eggs all are GF.  Most baked beans are GF. McCains hash browns and Birds eye mini-waffles are GF, or you could sautee some thinly sliced potato.
  • Indian curry and popadoms - Fry spices in oil not butter (beware that some ready made spice mixes contain wheat flour). Choose a dish that doesn't include yoghurt or replace with soya yoghurt. Check with your coeliac friend which brands of popadoms they can eat - usually there are some mainstream brands in the supermarket which are fine (but manufacturing practices change and your friend can look them up in the coeliacUK food directory which is regularly updated).
  • Morrocan Tangines - authentic recipes don't use stock cubes at all.  Check any ready made spice mixes don't contain wheat flour. Serve with rice.